• Read,  Time Out Reads

    Time Out Reads: Spring is finally here

    April, you’re looking a whole lot better than March already, let’s just hope you keep it up! It’s been an interesting week this week, working and juggling the kids whilst they’re still off on half term. It’s a lot easier now they are a bit older but in some ways, it makes it more difficult as they want to do more things, meet their friends and with me out each day, they can’t always do what they want. Borrowed Words I have been a regular reader of Erin’s over at Reading My Tea Leaves for a while as she has some very interesting articles on simple living. This post shared…

  • Book Reviews,  Read

    Book Review: The Stone Cutter by Camilla Lackberg

    The Stone Cutter by Camilla Lackberg Translated by Steven T Murray HarperCollins; 3/3/11 Rating 4 out of 5 Blurb The third psychological thriller from No 1 bestselling Swedish crime sensation Camilla Läckberg. Irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. The remote resort of Fjllbacka has seen its share of tragedy, though perhaps none worse than that of the little girl found in a fisherman’s net. But this was no accidental drowning Local detective Patrik Hedstrom has just become a father. It is his grim task to discover who could be behind the murder of a child both he and his partner Erica knew well. What he does not…

  • Read,  Time Out Reads

    Time Out Reads: Resurrection

    Easter and Spring always bring with them the feeling of a new start. Seeing all the baby lambs running around in the fields and the bright coloured crocuses and daffodils poking up through the soil shows the restart of our yearly cycle, maybe more so that the start of a New Year. Resurrection is the theme of this weeks time out reads too. Especially as I have restarted writing in a hope to finish my first novel and put my degree to good use. Also, I have decided to shake up this weekly round-up of favourite reads with a selection of my Instagram pictures for the previous week. This way…

  • Life

    Honey Soy Chicken

    I love simple, quick and easy meals, anything that makes tea time more simple is a must for me and this will become even more of an issue come next month when I embark on my university course. This recipe is one of those that you can simply mix together and stuff in the oven and enjoy a glass of wine and time with the kids whilst it cooks. Honey Soy Chicken  Ingredients 500 g Chicken Thighs, skin on 2 tbsp Vegetable Oil 3 tbsp Soy Sauce 1 tsp Sesame Oil 5 tbsp Honey 4 Garlic cloves, crushed 1/2 tsp ground ginger 1/2 tsp black pepper Method Line a baking…

  • Notes

    Taking Stock: March

    It’s the end of the month and time to take stock. I love writing these posts and they serve as a great reminder of all the good things that have come. I enjoy looking back and seeing what happened especially as I forget quite a lot of everything that goes on. Cooking: This yummy and healthy Chilli. Very popular in the tea room too! Drinking: Belvoir Fruit Farms Lemon, Honey and Ginger Cordial warm. Perfect for the cold evenings we’ve still been having. Reading: Quite a lot as I seem to be back in the flow. Reviews to follow but my favourite book was The Stonecutter by Camilla Lackberg Deciding: To…

  • Life

    Been a while

    I seem to have times where I want to commit to writing a blog regularly. Then other times where the thought of sitting down to write a post makes me not even touch my laptop for weeks. This is because I love the idea of having a blog that becomes my main income stream. But the reality of that is going through the soul-destroying tasks of posting on multiple Facebook groups and commenting on blog posts that I’m not really that interested in. Why? I’m going to blog how I want when I want and share it with who I want. I going to read and comment on other blogs…