Book Reviews,  Read

Book Review: The Stone Cutter by Camilla Lackberg

The Stone Cutter by Camilla Lackberg
Translated by Steven T Murray
HarperCollins; 3/3/11
Rating 4 out of 5

Blurb

The third psychological thriller from No 1 bestselling Swedish crime sensation Camilla Läckberg. Irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.

The remote resort of Fjllbacka has seen its share of tragedy, though perhaps none worse than that of the little girl found in a fisherman’s net. But this was no accidental drowning

Local detective Patrik Hedstrom has just become a father. It is his grim task to discover who could be behind the murder of a child both he and his partner Erica knew well.

What he does not know is how the case will reach into the dark heart of Fjllbacka and tear aside its idyllic facade, perhaps forever.

Verdict

The Stone Cutter is the third book in the Fjllbacka series and the second of Camilla Lackberg’s books I have read. I love the ease with which the story moves along and how she uses snapshots of other people’s lives to build up both the story as well as the town and main characters.

A little girl’s body is pulled up with a fisherman’s nets. At first, it appears to be an accident and one close to Patrik’s personal life as he knows the girl’s mother. As the investigation continues it turns out the little girl was murdered and with two other children assaulted in a similar way, it is a race against the clock to find the killer before they strike again.

The story switches chapters between the little girl’s murder investigation and the life of a privileged girl back in the 1940’s right up to the present day. The two stories do intertwine right at the end. This method of storytelling really adds more detail to the plot.

Add into the investigation of the girl’s death bickering neighbours, a paedophile ring, postnatal depression and a marriage at breaking point, this really is a page-turner.

Alongside the main stories, one of the things I love about Camilla’s writing is how she continues to build the characters of Erica and Patrick. Their stories run along in the background, adding a cosy feel to the story as well as some stability.

Camilla’s books are an easy read, her style of writing is very approachable and her characters are relatable. Her plotting skills are second to none, I can usually guess who the murderer is but in this one I really hadn’t got a clue until the big reveal.

If you’re wondering about all the sticky notes sticking out the side of the book in the main picture, well that is the down to my research for the thriller I am in the process of writing. Camilla has some great techniques that I hope to adopt and adapt to my own stories.

Product details

  • Paperback: 576 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins (3 Mar. 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0007253974
  • ISBN-13: 978-0007253975

To read more reviews click on the Read tab at the top of the site

This post may contain affiliate links which help to fund the upkeep of this blog, These links cost you nothing, they just earn this site a small amount of the cost of the item. I only share links to items I’ve used and loved.  

Spread the love
  • 2
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • 1
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • 1
  •  
  •  
    4
    Shares